Delaware Office of Animal Welfare

Individual Dog Licenses

Dog licensing is managed by the State of Delaware.

Individual Dog License Requirements:

  • State law requires that all dogs 6 months of age or older must be licensed.
  • Proof of current rabies vaccination is required at the time the license is issued.
  • Licenses are valid for 1, 2 or 3 years from date of purchase. A 2-year license may be purchased if there is more than 1 year left on the rabies vaccination, or a 3-year license if there are more than 2 years remaining on the rabies vaccination.
  • Payment for your license is due within 30 days of the license expiration date, or within 30 days of acquiring a dog over the age of 6 months in the State of Delaware.
  • A late fee of $12 will apply after 30 days.
  • Fee waived for seeing eye, guide or lead dogs, or dogs who have former US Military service.

doglicense

License Fees:

Type 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year
Spayed or Neutered Dog: $10 $20 $30
Unaltered Dog: $15 $30 $45
Senior 65+ w/ Altered Dog: $7 $14 $21
Late Fee: $12 (30 days after notice)

 

Dog License Flyer

How to Purchase:

PetData is the state’s licensing vendor.

Online: credit card purchases can be made online

By Mail: Complete the mail-in license application, along with a check or money order, a copy of your dog’s current Rabies vaccination certificate, and if applicable, proof of spay/neuter to: Delaware Dog Licensing, c/o PetData, PO Box 141929, Irving, TX 75014.

In Person:
a surcharge applies

Brandywine Valley SPCA
600 South Street
New Castle, DE 19720

Delaware Humane Association
701 A Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

New London Veterinary Center
437 New London Road
Newark, DE 19711

New Castle County Government Center (no surcharge)
87 Read’s Way
New Castle, DE 19720

Yarn & Bone Pet Supply Company
129 N. Main Street
Camden, Delaware 19934

Fur-Baby Boutique
204 NE Front Street
Milford, DE 19963

Millville Pet Stop
35167 Atlantic Avenue
Millville, DE 19970

Fenwick Pet Stop
1200 Coastal Hwy
Fenwick Island, DE 19944

Millsboro Animal Hospital
26984 John J Williams Hwy
Millsboro, DE 19966

Questions? Call PetData at 877-730-6347